Welcome to RSCM Music Direct – the leading Church Music suppliers

Tomkins: Jesus came when the doors were shut

More Views

Tomkins: Jesus came when the doors were shut

Availability: More than 50 in stock!

Thomas Tomkins: Jesus came when the doors were shut

SATB+Organ (AB verse)

Duration: 3'30''

Text: John 20: 26 – 29



Most of Tomkins's considerable output of church music was published in the monumental Musica Deo Sacra (1668). However, a number of his works were excluded from this collection: eight full anthems (four of which, strictly speaking, are 'sacred madrigals'), thirteen verse anthems, two services and a few other items. It is likely that much of this material was simply not to hand when, some ten years after his father's death, Nathaniel Tomkins was supervising the task of seeing the collection through the press. Despite its probably unintentional exclusion, however, Jesus came when the doors were shut was well known in Tomkins's day, to judge from the number and provenance of its surviving manuscript sources. Musical integration is achieved by (i) the use of the same distinctive falling motif occurring in both verse and chorus sections at the words 'Peace be unto you' and, later, 'Blessed are they that have not seen'; and (ii) the reworking of the last part of each verse section in the following chorus. The reconstruction of the missing solo countertenor material has been facilitated by reference in particular to the unusually detailed organ part. The anthem is subtitled 'For St Thomas's Day' in most of the sources, but is also suitable for the period after Easter as well as occasions concerned with the theme of faith.

Additional Information

Additional Information

Catalogue No. CP16
Publisher Cathedral Press
Contents No